2019-2021 State Officers


Lee Ann Cummings


Lee Ann Cummings joined The MacDowell Music Club of Jackson in 1998. A vocalist, she served as First Vice-President and President for three terms.  On the State level, she has served as Festival Cup Chair, Vice-President, and President for three terms. At the National level, she serves as Junior Music for the Blind Composition & Benzinger Performance Awards Chair and Arts Advocacy Chair. She is also a member of the Council for State Presidents and the NFMC Ellis Competition for Duo Piano Committee.

Lee Ann Cummings Edited Photo.jpg

Vice President 

Kathy Hammack

Kathy Hammack, a retired music educator, lives in Canton where she has been an active member of the Canton Music Study Club for over 40 years.   She is a graduate of Mississippi College holding Bachelor of Music Education, Master of Music, and Educational Specialist degrees.  Her teaching career includes both elementary and secondary positions at Jackson Academy and Madison County Public Schools.  Presently, she serves as Music Director

at First United Methodist Church and Thornton Chapel United Methodist Church in Canton.


Debbie Padula


A vocal performance major, Debbie Padula has been involved as a soloist in Mississippi with opera, choral groups, and the symphony. Mrs. Padula has been a member of the  MacDowell Music Club of Jackson and Chaminade Music Club for many years.  She is the past president of the MacDowell Music Club. Presently, Debbie serves as MFMC Recording Secretary and NFMC Ellis Piano Duo Competition Chairman.   

Debbie Padula's Edited Photo.jpg
Cecil Fox Jr. Edited Photo.jpg


Cecil Fox, Jr.


Canton native, Cecil Fox, has been involved in music and the Mississippi Federation of Music Clubs most of his life.  He has been the State Treasurer since 1999 and also serves as an NFMC Board Representative. Mr. Fox attended Interlochen Arts Academy and Mississippi College. He later joined Canton Music Study Club in 1973, he has served in many capacities and has been club treasurer since 1992.  Retiring from the family business in 2004, he now serves as Parish Administrator and organist at Grace Episcopal Church in Canton.


Marian Durfey


Mrs. Marian Durfey is the president of the Canton Music Study Club and has been for the past two years. For the past two years, she has served as the historian for the Mississippi Federation of Music Clubs and the National Federation of Music Clubs. She taught junior high history, world geography, and six years of French at Canton Academy. Marian is now retired and enjoys singing in the choir at Canton's Grace Episcopal Church.

Marian Durfey.jpg
William McMullin.jpg


William McMullin


 Mr. McMullin has been participating in church music since the age of 14 and is currently the pianist for Waldron Street Christian Church. William serves as Corinth Music Club president and has been for the past five years. William has been the MFMC Parliamentarian for the past year and has another year to go. He is active in local organizations such as the Corinth - Alcorn Literacy Council and the Crossroads Poetry Project.  Mr. McMullin, an avid concert-goer, supports and attends the Corinth Symphony and the Memphis Symphony, plus piano recitals wherever he can find them.

District Iii



Jan Mesrobian

Janice  Mesrobian, NCTM, received a BA degree from UCLA and an MM degree in piano performance from Wichita State University. She has maintained an active piano studio for 54 years. Additionally, she has held accompanying and teaching positions at UCLA, Pasadena City College, William Carey University, and the University of Southern Mississippi. Mesrobian moved to Hattiesburg, Mississippi, where she founded Hattiesburg Music Teacher League, serving multiple terms as president. Janice also co-founded the League's biennial Composer Festival.

Bettye Sledge Edited Photo.jpg

District IV


Bettye Sledge


Bettye Sledge currently serves as Vice-President for District IV, a position she as held for seven years. She has been MFMC Mississippi Together We Sing chair for five years and an active member of MacDowell Music Club of Crystal Springs for over twenty years, serving in various capacities, including three terms as President. Bettye is actively involved in the music ministry at Crystal Springs First Baptist Church and enjoys playing in Crystal Springs MacDowell's annual Grand Night Piano Extravaganza.

District V


Betty Turner


Betty Beckham Turner studied music at Mississippi State College for Women (Mississippi University for Women). She later graduated Summa Cum Laude from Delta State University with a bachelor's in Science and Education. For years Betty has been active with MFMC, serving in various capacities, including District V Vice President for 25+ years as well as MFMC President (1999-2001). She is a member of the Belzoni Music Club and has been for 50+ years. Betty served as President for the Belzoni Music Club and is an NFMC Lifetime Member.  Other accolades include Past Regent of The Daughters of the American Revolution (Iklanna DAR Chapter), Church Pianist, and choir member. Currently, Mrs. Turner serves as the First United Methodist Church Administrative Board President.

Betty Turner Photo.jpg
Vicki Avery 011.JPG

District II



Terri Donald

District I



Position Available

District VI



Vicki Avery

Mrs. Vicki Avery began playing the violin in the 6th grade. She played in the Memphis Youth Symphony all through high school. While attending the University of Memphis, Vicki was a member of the University's Orchestra. She was a member of the Corinth Orchestra for twelve years. Mrs. Avery retired in 2005 and has been an active member of the Corinth Music club since 2007, having served as club president for three terms.


District VIII



Erin Wilson

District VII